Does place matter? … Yes it does

Posted: April 9, 2010 in My inspirations

Amsterdam is such a beautiful city; the moment you step into the streets, you get instant boost in your inspiration. The mood, the light … they are so soft that you really can’t go wrong, even if you wanted to … but why would you? 🙂

Bicycles are super hit products there; I have never seen so many of them anywhere else. My hotel was located next to train station; there was a huge bicycle parking lot in front, full of bicycles, I reckon around couple of thousands were parked there. For a minimal cost, people from outskirts could park their wheels there … they would very conveniently just grab their bicycles coming off the train and hit the road … economical & effective

No matter how I love cycling, I still opted for manual walk … didn’t want to miss a single opportunity of a shot. You don’t need to architect a shot there; it just happens to be there, waiting for you … and that is where you start thinking; does place matter? … this is tough one to answer actually; ‘yes’ in most cases. I have been to quite a lot of places around the world (59 cities; 28 countries and counting); some places do possess that magic for so called ‘money shot’ … while for the rest, you need to be either lucky or really imaginative. This is not an excuse to stop shooting, but on the contrary … sometimes it is really required, you have to think out of the box

My visit was very short one, so I didn’t have the chance to visit out of Amsterdam; this is on my ‘to do’ list for next time. So much was to be seen but not enough time … and for the next week or so I couldn’t take my mind away from this song which was being played at a café … “ I am from Holland ***** “ 😀

Comments
  1. Asem says:

    Definitely one of my favourite places on the Planet!!!

  2. Banda says:

    I prefer cities that happen to be on 2 continents at the same time, and where the streets are very crowded and where you have bridges with changing light colors etc..
    Do you know any like this?

Leave a Reply

